Backyard Bird Sanctuaries

Whether real estate developers designed them this way or not, trees in suburban neighborhoods have become a kind of bird sanctuary network. As the natural habitats for birds have decreased over the decades, this unexpected dynamic between urbanization/development and nature is more than welcome. What’s even cooler is the fact that these Audubon havens are on the edge of one of the largest cities in the United States, and where major highways are only a few blocks away.

Here is a satellite view of my backyard and surrounding houses:

backyard

That’s a lot of greenery for an urban area.

My county happens to be inside a major migratory route, or “feeding route,” and so you will see a lot of flyovers around March and April, when thousands of cranes flock to Canada. I spot all sorts of birds, from the common to the exotic, on any given day while lounging in my backyard. In fact, a couple of long-time residents in my own backyard is a Blue Jay and a Northern Cardinal.

Here are a few photos I took of my backyard and surrounding houses. It’s practically a bird sanctuary.

 

I believe new urban and suburban developments will feature more green spaces and, consequently, will act as small habitats for birds, whether intended or not. Just be sure to park your car in the garage.

 

jk;l

