Re-Constructed Visual Art

I visited the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston (CAMH) in January 2013 to view two exhibitions featured at the time: Radical Presence: Black Performance in Contemporary Art and Perspectives 180-Unfinished Country: New Video from China.

I was fascinated by the individual pieces in both exhibitions, particularly the video installations, and found that the expressions from those two seemingly different cultures had a powerful message about how they relate–as artists and as individuals–to the social and political forces around them.

Using a Nikon DSLR and steady hands, I photographed the video art pieces from both exhibitions and superimposed them with each other.

1_o (1)

A projection of photos on a street performance piece, at 3 or 4-second intervals. I took pictures of 4 of them and then superimposed them when I converted the RAW files.

2_o (1)

3_o (1)

4_o

Two video art pieces–one B/W and one color–that I superimposed together. It was actually by luck and not design that the clock figure and the man’s head happened to overlap directly.

5_o

