Portfolio Website Evaluation

It’s time for my quarterly website evaluation. No, not this WordPress site, but my actual “official” website: http://www.michaelmira.com

I haven’t updated it in months. As of now, I’m going to keep the top header. It’s simple, minimal and a bit quirky.

web

As you scroll down, the ghost emoji floats up into the heavens.

web-2

I used to have a sleek but generic/cliche grid image gallery that linked to my individual projects, but I decided to go with a literary theme instead. The problem is my analytics data shows that visitors aren’t clicking the titles. They probably assume those are just non-linked texts. I should change the style for links–like an underline or a bright color or both–even if it means it’ll make the page look ugly.

Functionality says, “Tell Aesthetics it can suck my dick.”

Well, okay then. Moving on.

web-3

The font might be too light and small. It adds to the mystery but also strains the eyes. I’m keeping the background image though. I’ll pat myself on the back for that design choice.

web-4

That’s a creepy baby doll. Fake plastic baby and plastic flowers. It’s a fake life, which is probably why I used it as a header image for my publications page. Because, you know, I’m a fake writer/photographer.

Michael Raqim Mira does not exist. It’s all in my mind. It’s all in my mind. It’s all in my mind. It’s all in my mind. It’s all in my mind. It’s all in my mind. It’s all in my mind.

Anyway, I digress. Most writers link their published work to the webpage in which it appears. I don’t do that for the simple fact that some of the online journals that published my work no longer exist, and I hate dead links. So to make up for it, I’ve created individual pages for each poem/short story/essay using a blog template provided by the host. It looks more uniform and cleaner than an outdated indie poetry magazine’s webpage.

web-5

web-6

My freelance work page is probably unnecessary. This page is a constant reminder that I do too many things in life. One of the many problems with being multi-talented is that you will always be labeled as a jack-of-all-trades. I don’t give a fuck what they think because my eclectic arsenal of talents is why I can work in various industries and get hired easily.

However, is it really necessary to have this page on what is essentially an “artist/writer” portfolio? It brings up a more important question: what is the purpose of my website?

Initially, the whole purpose of the website was to centralize and coalesce my various social media profiles: Instagram (which I never even bothered to have), Tumblr/WordPress, Twitter, Vimeo, and LinkedIn.

This page was essentially meant to replace my LinkedIn account. This is where I can brag about my many skills and experiences, but now it just makes me look like an aimless teenager with ADD.

I need to come up with a system to organize my experiences for potential employers.

web-gate

The actual cover page for my website (the first thing you see before you enter the mess) is far scarier. Why? Because it reminds me that I’m borderline insane.

Explanation:

There’s a choice of “Me” and “Him” on the page. If you click Me, it will take you to my normal portfolio website (the screen shots above). Right now, there is no link directing you to the website for Him. I’m still working on it.

Now, this is where it gets kind of weird. “Him” will direct you to a portfolio website that will only feature my curriculum vitae and everything else not associated with the imaginary Michael Raqim Mira. This is the second career I’m pursuing ON TOP of my creative works.

It’s a dual-life.

“Him” is the regular me, in which I use my full legal/birth name, the academician and prospective human rights lawyer.

“Me” is Michael Raqim Mira, the (con) artist and self-described writer.

Every time I look at that cover page, I’m reminded that I’m crazy like Dr. Henry Jekyll living doubly as Mr. Hyde.

Is it possible to keep this up? Will I burn out and go full insane? How can someone as ordinary (but strange) as me be successful in multiple fields?

The good thing is I have a nuclear button: press it to destroy it all. I can easily walk away from the writing, the art, the academics, the revolutionary dreams, the research work, the ambitions–but it’s much more difficult to keep myself from coming back.

As I’ve noted in a previous post, I’ve “retired” from writing many times and yet I keep entering the ring for another fight.

My website is a reminder of this sickness.

